Idaho’s legal statutes dealing with drunk driving behavior prohibits operating any motor vehicle when the subject’s BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) registers .08 percent and above. For drivers of commercial vehicles and drivers under the age of 21, the BAC standard for conviction is 0.02%.
Penalties for a DUI conviction in Idaho
1st DUI conviction in Idaho:
- Is considered a misdemeanor with possible jail sentence of up to 6 months
- Possible fine up to $1,000
- License suspended for minimum of 30 days
2nd DUI conviction in Idaho:
- Minimum of 10 days and up to 1 year in jail
- Possible fine up to $2,000.
- License suspended for minimum of 1 year
- Possible order to install a ignition interlock system at your own expense following the one year suspension.
3rd DUI conviction in Idaho:
- Sentenced to prison for up to 10 years or at courts discretion, minimum of 30 days in county jail.
- Possible fine up to $5000
- License suspended for up to 5 years
- Mandatory order to install a ignition interlock system at your own expense
Contact Boise’s top DUI Lawyer for expert help today!